Instead of passionately failing.

Ramin
The  MVP
Published in
2 min readJul 5, 2016

It’s so strange. I started this Instagram project as a way to help artists gain an audience – a side project, until our startup is ready to launch.

We just took baby steps in this side project uploading one artwork per day. To my surprise it’s all going really well and more and more people want to be featured on the site with their work.

Today I had a 45minute conversation with an Italian artist on Skype. I was so nervous. It seemed so crazy, that someone would be eager to tell me about his work.

It took me a while and then I just realised: this side project, it’s a legitimate thing now. People actually value the stuff we are doing.

It seems that without knowing it, this is my personal blueprint for actually growing things.

I realise that the successful projects all started with baby steps, without any effort involved. Step by step I adjusted my effort along the way. This adjustment always happened in such small proportions, that I didn’t even realise it.

Is this really true?

Let’s look a my opposite behaviour.

After high school I wanted to become fluent in English. My English was horrible. So I went to the library and started reading books. But I was so busy searching the vocabulary in the dictionary, that I could barely finish a page under 8minutes.

So I stopped reading English books.

A lot of things, which I started in a bold and extremely passionate manner never turned into something worthwhile. After a while passion went off the cliff and then the activity felt like a huge liability.

Fortunately, Charlotte started watching How I Met Your Mother in English and I accompanied her. Without even recognising it, my English increased enough to make other activities, like listening to podcasts or reading non fiction books, enjoyable for me.

Honestly, otherwise this article never would have been possible.

Is there something more rewarding than actually growing something, instead of just talking about it?

Thanks for reading my post. I really appreciate it!

I would love to hear your opinion!

--

--