Is a Secret Genocide Taking Place in the Czech Republic?

“Of course not,” says the government.

Martina Petkova
The Mystery Box

--

Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

When Natasa Botosova was giving birth, they handed her “a blank paper to sign.”

“I was in a lot of pain so I did what they asked. After that I was anaesthetised and then they sterilised me. I only found out what had happened because afterwards there was a scar on my abdomen.”

Jirina Dzurkova had an ectopic pregnancy. At the hospital, she was told that she has to undergo urgent surgery. Sometime later, at a regular checkup with her doctor, he took a look at her medical file and said,

“I see you have been sterilized.”

Elena Gorolová was 21 when she was giving birth to her second son.

“My first child was delivered by C-section and the doctor told me I would need another one. Nobody said anything about sterilization.”

And yet, after she woke up from the C-section she was told by the doctor that she had also been sterilized.

All these cases, and many more like them, took place a few decades ago in the Czech Republic.

The question is not whether it happened. We know it did. The question is, does it continue to happen?

--

--

Martina Petkova
The Mystery Box

In my Medium writing, I explore the human psyche, our many contradictions, mental health, & the signs and causes of abuse. I also write about racism.