Deadline: Debunking the Dawdler’s Dilemma

B. Morey Stockwell, PhD
The Naked Creative
Published in
5 min readMar 1, 2024

--

Deadlines help you focus. Or do they? How can you leverage them for your benefit.

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

It’s time to be bold

and share your goals.

Now, don’t be a mole.

Go for the gold.

I didn’t intend to write a poem. (I don’t consider myself a poet AT ALL.)

I am clarifying my ideas for this week’s writing.

Having goals and motivation to follow through on a task is one thing. Doing the work and seeing the ‘thing’ emerge into the world is quite another thing.

When I wrote the word emerge, I pictured a baby being birthed. The tiny, innocent thing finally pushed out into the world ready to start its journey, live its own life, have its own goals, and be its own person.

But I also thought about the moment of conception. The instant when sperm meets egg, and WHAM! Life.

Then, the fertilized egg burrows into the womb wall, nourished by the mother, kept warm and cozy, protected, developing, and growing until that moment of birth.

Creation.

Creativity.

Create.

--

--

B. Morey Stockwell, PhD
The Naked Creative

I’m a writer who writes about writing… and other topics that bring me joy. Find tips and strategies to enhance your creativity at www.doyourart.org.