December Literary Haul

Supplementary Reads for NaNoWriMo Inspiration

3 min readNov 30, 2017

--

Another month. Another haul.
To say that I’m reading again, consistently, is huge.

I’ve scoured charity shops, and second hand stores, and bought new copies of books. A few have been sitting idly in the back of my mind as books I’ve always wanted to read (The Help and On the Road being two of them). While others are for inspiration as I complete a novel of my own (here’s to you, Cheryl Strayed).

Here’s the lineup for the next month or two and why they made it to the haul. I’ll drop them below with a more elaborate recap once they’ve been completed.

Outliers

I read Blink in a matter of a few days and I’ve been meaning to pick up another one of his literary works. I’m been a huge fan of Gladwell’s podcast, Revisionist History so that has filled some space in my life. Outliers is next on the list with David and Goliath on the horizon.

Nineteen Eighty-Four

Having just finished 1Q84 (featured below) and the current nature of our political climate, I think it’s only fitting to read the masterpiece having significantly more life experience.

The Witch of Portobello

I’m on a mission to read all of Paulo Coelho’s books, starting with the less popular ones. I’ve done the same with Murakami and Vonnegut and now I want to explore the realm of Coelho. I have no idea what this book is about, but I’m excited to have found it.

The Help

A classic that has always come highly recommended. I’m trying to be better about reading books before seeing the film. This is me playing catch up on the movies I’ve seen, but haven’t picked up in my hands.

On the Road

I think this will officially by my first literary dose from the Beat movement, but it’s one I’ve always been curious to read. Whether you love it or hate it, I think it’s a staple in American literature and I’m personally excited to dive in.

I Love Dick

A cult classic from the 90’s now grabbing national attention through the television series. This is another case of wanting to personally read the book before I watch some one else’s interpretation.

All the Light We Cannot See

Every person I’ve talked to said this book was a brilliant read. I struggle with writing descriptions, so I’m hoping this one will ignite some inspiration in the coming weeks.

Milk and Honey, The Sun and Her Flowers

Two years ago, I was wasting away on a deserted island in Cambodia, being verbally abused by my boss. The book Tiny Beautiful Things was sitting on the book exchange shelf (pickings were slim), but I read the book at least a dozen times. I can give you a million reasons why that book saved my life, but instead I’ll share a piece of advice Dear Sugar (Cheryl Strayed) had for twenty year olds that resonated with me the most:

Go to a bookstore and buy ten books of poetry and read them each five times.

When asked why, her response was:

Because the truth is inside.

Consider this haul of Rupi Kaur, arguably THE most incredible female poet of our generation, my quest to find the truth in the last year of my twenties.

Wild

Aaaah, back to Cheryl Strayed. Again, Tiny Beautiful Things saved my life. I ripped chapters out and wrote letters to people I felt could benefit from her words. She transformed my perceptions of self-love and grief and success and everything in between. I’ve listened to her live episode with Tim Ferriss another dozen times. I just can’t get enough of this wildly inspirational woman.

In writing a travel memoir that unveils not-so-beautiful memories, I hope to find inspiration in her voice as I work to discover my own. I have a feeling this one will be a staple in my life for many, many years to come.

--

--

Award-Winning Travel Writer. Book Doula and Writing Coach. Spoken Word Poet. Vagabond and Perpetual Traveller.