November Literary Haul

Supplementary Reads for NaNoWriMo Inspiration

5 min readNov 15, 2017

--

On a quest to read more novels to inspire my own participation in NaNoWriMo, here are the novels I’ve picked up (and finished) in the last few weeks. If you’re an avid reader or someone who loves to share their recent literary find, I would love to hear some of your recommendations in the comments below!

I’m not going to give a synopsis of each book here because that’s what Goodreads is for. This is more a commentary on where I was, why I read it, and what I took away from reading that I hope to apply to my own writing this month.

Please note: though this is published in my NaNoWriMo diaries, this will be an article in progress. It will grow as the month continues and I make space for more writing time on Medium.

1. Beautiful You

Chuck Palahniuk

I first discovered Palahnuik at the beginning of 2014 when I started working at Barnes and Noble. Late bloomer, I know. Being in a darker place in life, I devoured his work rather quickly. Choke and Survivor were two of my favorites, but I was always eager to pick up more. When Beautiful You was released at the end of the year, I was ecstatic. I even got my hands on a signed copy from Palahnuik himself. Except I never read the book. It sat on my self like some trophy collecting dust. Somewhere between Ken Follett and Murakami.

Fast forward to November 2017. I found a paperback copy at Oxfam Books and decided to give it proper read time. I don’t know if I’m glad or if I regret finally doing so. I was able to get through this book in a few days, but it felt like I was forcing myself to reach the end. It’s a witless ode to society’s (women’s?) cult-like obsession with Fifty Shades and a social commentary on the manipulation of the masses through corporate consumerism. I have to mention the sex witch who lives in the Himalayas. Like… what? The entire thing felt haphazard, like the publisher was breathing down his neck to reach a deadline and he just threw this one together.

Might have to take a break from Palahniuk after this one.

What I walked away with:

A long list of things not to do for NaNoWriMo.

2. The Spy

Paulo Coelho

Everyone knows Coelho for his most famous title the Alchemist. I think I’ve read the book a dozen times as it stays relevant to just about every life stage I find myself to be in. Realizing I haven’t sought out any of his other works, I chose the Spy because of it’s historical narrative of a woman living in Paris in the early 1900’s.

What I walked away with:

Historical events can easily be retold through a fresh narrative with the right amount of research and accuracy.

3. South of the Border, West of the Sun

Haruki Murakami

I haven’t touched a Murakami book in almost two years, which is a travesty in and of itself. With the sudden loss of a dear friend who shared a love of Murakami, it was too painful to pick up one his books without her on the receiving end of my observations. After a year and a half of working through grief, I was finally able to resume my love affair with this brilliant author without the heaviness weighing on my heart.

Oh, Murakami. I’m sorry it took me so long to find my way back to you. I promise to never put distance between us again.

What I walked away with:

Be more like Murakami.

4. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Haruki Murakami

Here’s another book I’ve owned since it was released, but haven’t given myself the chance to read. I picked up a new copy and dove in as soon as I was done with South of the Border, West of the Sun.

There are always tones of melancholy and mysticism in Murakami’s works, but this one was so damn relatable.

What I walked away with:

Be Murakami.

BONUS: Audiobook of the Month

The Power of Vulnerability

Brené Brown

I’ve been trying to make time for more audiobooks, but admittedly my attention span is three minutes. My mind wanders at warp speed and I can rarely quiet it long enough to digest a full audio book.

Enter the incredible Brené Brown; a self proclaimed researcher-storyteller.

I’m pulling my favorite quote which is also highlighted in the first paragraph on Goodreads:

“In our culture, we associate vulnerability with emotions we want to avoid such as fear, shame, and uncertainty. Yet we too often lose sight of the fact that vulnerability is also the birthplace of joy, belonging, creativity, authenticity, and love.” — Brené Brown

In facing the challenges of NaNoWriMo, this audiobook (think more of an expanded TED Talk) has been a valuable resource in overcoming the challenges of writing something so personal.

--

--

Award-Winning Travel Writer. Book Doula and Writing Coach. Spoken Word Poet. Vagabond and Perpetual Traveller.