Validation

Week 5. Day 30.

Hayli Nicole
The NaNoWriMo Diaries
2 min readDec 4, 2017

--

At approximately 3pm on November 29, 2017 I validated my word count on the NaNoWriMo website. My heart leaped from my chest when it read 49,941 in the top left corner.

That’s 49,941 words I didn’t think I would be able to write.
49,941 ways I told myself I wasn’t worthy of completing this.
Those are 49,941 of the most private words which are no longer buried in the dusty rolodex of my memory.

Today I will validate the beginnings of a novel with the hopes of continuing strong through December.

Hopefully.

I still have 12+ hours to validate my manuscript. So for the last day of NaNoWriMo, I slept in until 11am. I barely put on pants. I read a chapter from Wild before working on a chapter of my own. I wrote three articles (including this one) on Medium because I still have to complete the 52 Week Writing Challenge. And now I’m going to drink mulled wine with my best friends because I earned this.

And so did you.

Screenshot of my final stats below. I’ve got 53,360 reasons to feel awesome today. I hope you have 50k of your own to smile about!

--

--

Hayli Nicole
The NaNoWriMo Diaries

Award-Winning Travel Writer. Book Doula and Writing Coach. Spoken Word Poet. Vagabond and Perpetual Traveller.