A FAMILY’S STORY

After More Than Fifty Years, I Finally Met My Brother

I didn’t even know he existed

Darren Weir
The Narrative Arc
Published in
8 min readDec 1, 2023

--

Two men stand in a kitchen with their arms around each other, holding up glasses of beer.
My brother and me sharing a brew Darren Weir (with permission)

It was that rare moment when you meet someone but feel like you have known them your whole life. That’s what it was like when I met my brother face-to-face for the first time.

It was a journey to confront my past.

Black and white closeup of a man and woman walking down the street in the 1950s. The man is holding a package in his left arm.
My mom and dad in happier times — family photo

My natural father abandoned our family when I was just two years old. He simply vanished and no one had any idea what happened to him or where he was.

It wasn’t easy growing up without a dad in the sixties. All of my friends had two-parent families. I would walk up to strangers at the supermarket and ask, “Are you my daddy?”

I would ask family friends, “Will you be my daddy?” It broke my mom’s heart.

My mom was now a single mother of three children, with no job and no money. But she did what she had to do and took on the roles of both parents for my older sisters and me. She did all she could to give us a good life.

My two sisters were in their early teens when our dad vanished so they felt his absence even more than I did…

--

--

Darren Weir
The Narrative Arc

I write about Travel, Photography, Music - Parasol Publications Editor - Publisher of Travel Memoirs - TV News Producer (retired)