THE NARRATIVE ARC | MEMOIR

At Burger King, I Earn More Than Minimum Wage

Working behind the counter leads to a life of empathy

Paul Yee
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readJun 8, 2024

--

A large hamburger on a wooden table with pepper and sesame.
Photo by Ilya Mashkov on Unsplash

“It was him!”

The customer vigorously points at me, like an accuser picking a suspect out of a lineup.

She was right: It was me.

But I’m no criminal. I’m 15, working the counter at Burger King.

The focus of her complaint is likely the first of its kind: ALF puppets. “ALF,” short for “Alien Life Form,” is a 1980s sitcom about a furry, sarcastic version of E.T. Like the TV show, our promotion is a hit; we quickly sell out of the puppets, which depict ALF as a chef, rock star, surfer, and baseball player.

A few days prior, the customer had come in seeking a puppet. With none to give, I suggested returning today, when we expected our next batch of supplies.

Unfortunately, this morning’s delivery is ALF-free.

Upon hearing the news, she launches into a tirade, telling my manager, Aziz, that I had wasted her time. Ever calm, he apologizes and recommends that she call ahead next time. Frustrated but realizing nothing more can be done, she glowers at me before leaving.

--

--