PERSONAL ESSAY

Being a Harley Mama for Seven Years Taught Me Some Good Life Lessons

Hop on, let’s go for a ride down memory lane

Chevie Hanssler
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readSep 10, 2023

--

This photo shows hundreds of motorcyclists sitting on their motorcycles.
Bikers line up to ride in an annual parade, which I participated in with my ex-boyfriend. (Photo by author)

There are cool, bad-ass biker babes and bad-to-the-bone biker boys and then there’s me. I’ve never been a part of that scene, but I joined it for seven years by default.

My ex-boyfriend Ben has driven Harleys since he was 17. He bought one the first year we got together, right before I turned 40. Then, his brother, his cousin, and his two friends also got bikes.

Suddenly, we were a bad-ass biker gang.

When we rumbled down the street side by side, the sun shined off the chrome and our sunglasses and people stopped to stare.

At stoplights, the bikes’ mufflers roared in unison like thunder and time seemed to stand still. We were like Roman gladiators riding chariots into an arena or a gang of bandits galloping through an old Western town.

Kids gaped at us with big eyes and open mouths. Dads nodded and wished they had a Harley of their own. Moms smiled and dreamed of a carefree life or riding with the wind in their hair.

People were more likely just annoyed by the noise, but I preferred to think they thought we were the coolest mother fuckers around.

--

--

Chevie Hanssler
The Narrative Arc

Child of the 70s. Lover of nostalgia. Former newspaper editor. I write memoir and personal essays.