A FLORAL MEMOIR

Can Men Enjoy Flowers?

My favorites are bluebonnets and multicolored tulips, but I also enjoy roses, azaleas, hibiscus and plumerias

Lee J. Bentch
The Narrative Arc
Published in
4 min readMar 18, 2024

--

A close-up photo of Bluebonnet flowers
Photo by Daniel Adams on Unsplash

“I shouldn’t have to die to receive a bouquet,” my friend’s grandfather used to tell me.

He loved flowers.

He grew, nurtured, and cross-bred them as a hobby. He even had a backyard greenhouse, which was pretty intense.

I’m convinced that amongst the petunias, lilies, experimental roses, and hearty tulips, a few marijuana plants were present.

His greenhouse had lights, central heat, running water, and a stereo system. Combined with a workshop area, rows, and rows of racks, it was his perfect escape. This was the 1970s, and the guy was an old-time hippie.

His appreciation for flowers was intense, and he wouldn’t let stereotypes stop him from enjoying them.

Living in the country, his property had fields of wildflowers, intricate rose gardens, and areas with different colors, fragrances, and landscape designs. Throw in a chicken coop, a few cows, and a horse; it was always fun going out there.

Flowers are an integral part of nature. They are colorful, bold, petite, and fragrant. They provide pollen…

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
The Narrative Arc

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com