OUR DARN DOGS | FUR & FEATHERS: OUR BELOVED PETS!

Celebrating Diversity When it Comes to Dogs

They’re like us in so many ways

Jill Ebstein
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readMay 9, 2023

--

Author’s photo of Teddy (on left) and Nemo (on right)

It turns out that managing my dogs has not been that different than managing my children. They each come with a personality that defines them. The trick for us is figuring out what that personality is and then adapting accordingly.

The Facts Jack

We’ve had two Goldendoodles. Nemo, the oldest, lived to be fourteen and three months (but who’s counting), and we had to put him down two years ago. I’ve written copious amounts about him, and just when I think I’ve spilled all my words, another piece comes out. Two weeks ago, when a friend had to put down her dog, I wrote about our experience and cried all over again.

Today’s piece, though, is going to be about attitude and joy and pets declaring their needs. So think “happy.”

When Nemo was eleven, we added a second dog to our family. Teddy is adorable, energetic, LARGE, and scared of his own…

--

--

Jill Ebstein
The Narrative Arc

I’m about dogs, our lovable and peculiar families, business, and writing in a wide lane, including fiction. I’m a positivity washer too. www.jillebstein.com