THE NARRATIVE ARC FUR AND FEATHERS COMPETITION | PETS

Ed Wasn’t a Bullfrog, But He Was a Good Friend of Mine

I miss this little face

Conni Walkup Hull
The Narrative Arc
Published in
5 min readMay 10, 2023

--

Close up of a fat, spotted toad.
Portrait of my pet toad, Ed. Author’s photo

Ed had neither fur nor feathers, but he was a special pet. My pet toad. If you already think I’m eccentric, this story isn’t going to help things any.

While Ed was, in my opinion, a handsome lad, he was not very interactive, as far as pets go. But he helped me water and prune my flowers every day, and I grew very fond of him.

I even began shopping for toad houses online. Some are quite snazzy.

I’ve always had a special affinity with animals. As a young girl, I was able to ride horses nobody else could ride, be buddies with dogs who snapped at other people. I’m the person other people’s cats always head for, whose dogs will immediately curl up on my feet.

Squirrels run right up to me. I remember a robin who used to accompany me on my daily walks. One lady’s pet parakeet flew to me as I sat on her sofa, and began purposefully hopping up my arm, to sit on my shoulder or peck my eyes out, I’m not sure which. That was a hard one —I’m not a big fan of birds, at least on my person.

They might get in your hair and poop, you know.

--

--

Conni Walkup Hull
The Narrative Arc

Lawyer/writer. I write essays, memoir, poetry, and tales about my never-dull-life with a handsome Sailor. Experienced editor. Fun to hang out with.