THE NARRATIVE ARC

How Eminem Helped Me Raise Two Million Dollars

The best presentations are vulnerable

Andrew J. DiMeo, Sr., Ph.D.
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Eminem on stage, hands confidently spread wide to the audience, with a background singer and musicians behind him
Eminem in Concert at The Michigan Central StationStock Photo ID: 2473510887

The final stretch of wrapping up research, writing a dissertation, and preparing for my defense was taking its toll. Some weeks, I had so much work that I didn’t leave the lab for two to three days. The children and their mom would bring a meal, we’d visit a bit, and I’d get back at it.

In the Spring of 2009, I took a rare moment to rest during the home stretch of completing my Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) The journey to go from Mr. DiMeo to Dr. DiMeo had been going for nine years, longer than usual. In that time, I had managed to work full-time, buy my first home, start my first marriage, and raise two children.

The dissertation defense is a nerve-racking forty-five-minute presentation to an open audience, followed by questions. At the end of the public session, everyone is excused from the room, but for the tenured faculty (the academic top brass). The defending begins as professors challenge the validity of the dissertation.

For years, I was part of the public waiting outside the room for what seemed an hour. Friends would eventually emerge, still noticeably sweating, delighted to be greeted by their classmates and family with a hearty, “Congratulations, Doctor!”

--

--

Andrew J. DiMeo, Sr., Ph.D.
The Narrative Arc

Husband, Father, & Friend & Health Innovator & Biomedical Engineer & Design Philosopher & Social Entrepreneur & ...