I Fell Hard for My Married Boss

I suspect the feelings were mutual

Ellen Eastwood
The Narrative Arc

--

Woman talking at business meeting with man smiling at her in the background
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

When I first developed a crush on my former boss Aidan, I dismissed it as physical. He’s a charismatic, good-looking guy who fills out his suit jackets well. But I knew he was married, so I didn’t put much stock in it. A crush can be a fun, lighthearted thing. No harm in having some extra incentive to go to work.

But as we began to work more closely together, I started admiring his strategic abilities and can-do mindset. His discipline inspired me. I was disarmed by the way he noticed and remembered little details about me.

I’m human and I notice a handsome man. But if you attract my brain, that’s a different level entirely.

Our work often brought us together, and over time, a casual intimacy developed. He’d sneak me treats from his candy stash. I’d borrow CDs from his office. He’d drink my smoothies from the mini-fridge. The kinds of things you don’t do with the average co-worker.

Up until then, I’d rolled my eyes at people who use the whole “I couldn’t help it, I just fell in love,” excuse to justify cheating or getting involved with someone who has a partner. Please. We all recognize when we have a spark with someone and if one of you isn’t available, that’s the time to bail, and quickly.

--

--

Ellen Eastwood
The Narrative Arc

Culture and lifestyle writer | Generalist | Curious | Witty on a good day | Contact: elleneastwood@outlook.com