WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH | WOMEN IN THE TRADES

I Helped Pave the Way for Women Working in Trades

The ’80s were not easy for women working in industrial arts

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Narrative Arc
Published in
12 min readMar 5, 2023

--

back view of woman in blue jeans wearing a flannel shirt, holding a hammer and tools as she works on a fence.
Photo by Los Muertos Crew: source

In the early ’80s, I was the only woman working in a shop environment. Woodworking, metal working, and all aspects of working in industry. As a Therapy Technician in the industrial arts, my job was to support ‘Industrial Therapists’ as they got workers injured on the job back into the workplace.

We worked in tandem with doctors, physical therapists, and psychologists in supporting the blue-collar workers of Oregon who had been injured on the job.

When the all-male staff in the Industrial Therapy department opened up a job for a helper, they didn’t think a woman would apply. I was the top candidate on paper.

My supervisor “Little Joe” told me, when he offered me the job, my application was the strongest.

“We have one problem,” he said, “The men are skeptical about you because they want to hire a man. Not a woman.”

Great. My gender was setting me back.

Should I accept the job? It was a $300-per-month pay raise. No brainer. I accepted the reluctant offer, and my heart raced. My first day came along, and I was…

--

--

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Narrative Arc

Boost Nominator | Publisher | Writer | Editor --Welcome to my world! I came to Medium as a writer, and things got bigger fast. Parasol Publications.