THE NARRATIVE ARC

I’m Not ‘Bossy’ — I’m the Boss

Women aren’t nagging; they are leading

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Narrative Arc
Published in
7 min readJun 27, 2024

--

Art work of a woman
Photo by Dan Farrell on Unsplash

“Why do you even work here? Why aren’t you in a job for women? You aren’t even married! Bet you’re a lesbian.”

My colleague stomped away, his head shaking. I was upset but not surprised. I was the only woman in the shop. When I applied for the job, my work experience made me the most qualified candidate. When I showed up, the men were furious. A woman! In their shop!

Most of my life, I’ve had a leadership role in the workplace. Even if I’m hired in a lower position, I work my way to the top.

My mom was always in management too, and was a powerful and gifted leader. I learned so much from her. In time, I went on to become a Leadership teacher at the secondary level. All my best training came first from my mother.

She was a manager in the ’70s and ’80s, a time when women were blatantly disrespected in the workplace. The term “sexual harassment” hadn’t even been invented when Mom first dealt with it. I’m sure she encountered groping and other horrific challenges, as many of us have. Despite that, she rose in the ranks.

In the ’70s, I noticed language differences in describing men and women in the workplace.

--

--

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Narrative Arc

Boost Nominator | Publisher | Writer | Editor --Welcome to my world! I came to Medium as a writer, and things got bigger fast. Parasol Publications.