THE NARRATIVE ARC

I’m Ready to Love Again

It took a long time to get here

Edward Anderson
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Over the past 17 years, I have dated many guys. Some more stable than others, but none of them were truly emotionally available to me. To be fair, I wasn’t emotionally available to them either.

Many know that in 2007, I ended a relationship. It was one that ended in a courtroom with my ex taking a plea deal to avoid jail time because he almost took my life.

What many people don’t know is what happened after.

I called my mother, thinking that she would lend a sympathetic ear. It was one of those days that a warm embrace from a parental figure was sorely needed. Sadly, that is not what I got from her.

“I hope the two of you can work through this little incident,” she said to me.

Her words stung like tequila on a wound. After hanging up the phone, I vowed that I would never let anyone get that close to me again. The pain wasn’t worth it.

The two people who were supposed to love me more than anything had destroyed my psyche. Worse, I don’t think they even realized that they did it. Or at the very least, neither cared.

It made my decision that much more inspired, at least in my mind.

--

--

Edward Anderson
The Narrative Arc

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories. His most recent book is Barbenheimer.