THE NARRATIVE ARC

Lovers Will Come and Go, but Your True Friends Will Always Be There For You

The importance of platonic love shouldn’t be undervalued

Christine Schoenwald
The Narrative Arc
Published in
4 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Three women standing close together and posing for the camera.
Photo by Adrienn: https://www.pexels.com

I envied my friend Alex for her squad of friends and how they loved, supported, and cherished her. They were fiercely protective of her, too, which I found out when I dared to have my birthday party (with her permission) on her birthday.

Her friends were on me so fast you’d have thought I was plotting to overthrow a small nation.

What would it be like to have a group of friends who always had your back, loved you unconditionally, and prepared to fight for you? I didn’t have to go far for the answer because I already had what I was searching for, like Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz.

After a successful tea party, as my guests were beginning to collect their things, my friend Victoria insisted everyone tell me they loved me — and without protesting, that’s exactly what they did.

I knew my friends cared deeply about me, but it still was nice to hear. A little overt love is always welcome.

When I compare my friendships to Alex’s, I can’t see a difference in loyalty or closeness.

--

--

Christine Schoenwald
The Narrative Arc

Writer for The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Next Avenue, Business Insider, and Your Tango Christineschoenwaldwriter.com