Once Upon A Dream

It’s not about a fairy tale. It’s real.

Sana Sparks
The Narrative Arc
Published in
10 min readOct 15, 2023

--

Two darling Shakespearean Lovers flirting in a garden
Beatrice and Benedick, Much Ado About Nothing: Norman Price, illustrator. 1915

Oh, no. What you see above — this is not us. But we have worn similar costumes. Neither is there anything romantic about us. Except that we love one another. In different ways. Now, in a remote condition.

The remote part was not true three decades ago. In fact, for one month, we seemed tied at the hip. Nope. Still not romantic. Not ever.

I wouldn’t have had it any other way. Not for the two of us.

If we had been a “couple” for even a tiny while, there might have been the “had him” points some people seem to want. Awful, if that were “it.” I didn’t want to possess him. I wanted to know him. Spend time with him. If I had gone for the usual thing, I would not have experienced as much or learned as much as I have over the years. Or enjoyed a man as much. Ever.

I call him the joy of my life. There have been many men I have loved in different ways, and love still. But I was never inclined to marry. Especially when I saw what marriage did to other women around me. Whether they loved marriage or not. I was more interested in men who were wanderers. The men who rode the horses and the motorcycles. Who sailed their own boats and flew their own planes. Especially men used to being onstage. I love talented, interesting men.

--

--

Sana Sparks
The Narrative Arc

An elder who creates magic, tells true stories, throws open the mind. understands dreams, sings wordless songs, and knows the gift of memory.