OUR BELOVED PETS WRITING COMPETITION | THE NARRATIVE ARC

Oreo Gives Me Nothing but Love, Even When Cranky

He’s my special needs pal

Bruce Coulter
The Narrative Arc
Published in
5 min readMay 10, 2023

--

Oreo, AKA Big Foot. Photo by author

Eight years ago, one of my daughter’s friends announced on social media that she was trying to find homes for some kittens. I was all in at the word kitten.

His official name is Oreo. That’s how we introduced him to our vet. I call him Big Foot.

So, on a butt-cold Saturday in December 2015, we drove out to meet and pick up a kitten. The winter winds were blowing hard to keep the temperature down to a cozy below zero, bone-chilling day.

Briana and I met at her friend’s apartment to check out the litter. They were beautiful Ragamese kittens with long hair and the markings of a Siamese cat. Yeah, we were in love with all of them. I don’t recall picking one out as much as they said, “Here, have a kitten.” But the moment I had Oreo in my arms, I knew he was the one.

We put him in a small box with a blanket insulating the bottom for the 20-minute ride home. We already had a tabby at home; her name was Tabs. I love original names, don’t you? We kept her and Oreo separate until we got him to the vet.

Before long, the cats got along well. Tabs completely ignored Oreo, even though he…

--

--

Bruce Coulter
The Narrative Arc

I'm a retired, disabled veteran with MH issues. Tomorrow will be a better day. Join me and others on Medium. https://medium.com/@brucecoulter_75270/membership