THE NARRATIVE ARC

Other Adventures Tripped Up and Eclipsed My Eclipse Trip

Bodies briefly aligning in time and space create big impressions

John Kruse MD, PhD
The Narrative Arc
Published in
9 min readApr 16, 2024

--

A woman’s eye with a sun-like circle of orange light in it.
Image by Victoria from Pixabay

I took a week-long trip to see the solar eclipse. Maybe I should have anticipated that with five days of flying from my home in Hawaii, and more than ten thousand miles to cover, I would stumble into at least a few strange events.

My daily life is pretty humdrum and sedate. With my midwest monotone and calm demeanour, some of my patients and podcast audience think of me as the no-drama-lama. So I wasn’t quite ready for all the weirdness my trip stirred up.

I had two clear options for viewing the solar eclipse. The path of totality transversed Cleveland, where I grew up, and Rochester, New York, where I spent a decade in college. On the southern shores of the Great Lakes, each city held a significant risk of cloudy weather.

I opted for Rochester, where I could stay with friends and visit with others, and check in with one of my college age kids. My daughter would fly in from Minnesota to join her twin and I in viewing the eclipse, and in turn, I would stop in St. Paul on the way back to Hawaii.

It started with an earthquake….

--

--

John Kruse MD, PhD
The Narrative Arc

Psychiatrist, neuroscientist, father of twins, marathon runner, in Hawaii. 100+ ADHD & mental health videos https://www.youtube.com/@dr.johnkruse6708