THE NARRATIVE ARC

The Dance of the Mergansers

An invitation to notice from Mary Oliver

Laura DeMaisBerg
The Narrative Arc
Published in
4 min readApr 25, 2024

--

A common Merganser cleaning it’s back
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

I love reading Mary Oliver’s poetry because it gives me a clear sense of her deep and pure connection to nature. In her poetry, Oliver has a way of translating the majesty of the natural world in simple detail that encapsulates profound moments of beauty and wonder.

I read a poem every morning. For the past several months I have been making my way through a compilation of one of Mary Oliver’s books of poetry. Though I read other poets sometimes, I always come back to Mary Oliver.

Every day, before I head out on a walk I read a poem and then sit quietly for a few moments letting her words ripple through my bloodstream. What I love about Oliver’s poetry is that her words are simultaneously elusive and accessible. I usually have to read the poem twice, the first time is just a warm-up. The second time I start to understand and often have an “a-ha” or “wow” moment. I regularly stop and read a line two or three times (often aloud) because it is so perfectly descriptive.

Oliver has a way of conveying her personal reverence for the natural world and, at the same time, inviting the reader to be open and welcoming to the limitations and constrictions we face as mere humans.

--

--

Laura DeMaisBerg
The Narrative Arc

I write about seemingly mundane experiences that are relatable because we are human. Subscribe on Substack to get my stories directly: lauramc.sub-stack.com