The Feral Cat and the Family Dog: A Love Story

Proof that love knows no boundaries

Kendra Sparkles
The Narrative Arc

--

Photo of Feral Fawcett and Bronco taken by author

This is a story about a family man (‘s best friend) and a gypsy soul who fell in love despite their differences. A story of lovers ripped apart and against all odds, brought back together in their special meeting place under a back porch.

This story transcends race, religion, social status, breed, and even species. It’s so filled with love that it will leave Nicholas Sparks himself begging for the book rights.

This is the true love story of Bronco the dog and Feral Fawcett the feral cat.

In order to tell this story, I need to take you back to the fall of 2018. My husband opened our back door to let my dog out and started muttering something about the damn feral cat.

My ears perked up. Living out in the country, I’ve seen my fair share of feral cats come and go from our 50 acres. No matter how hard I tried, I could never get any of these wild beauties to stick around very long. I assumed it was because of our three giant dogs that roam freely on our land.

I peered anxiously over my cup of coffee. Had Will Feral, Captain Jack Feral, Woody Feralson, or one of my other feral friends returned?

--

--