THE NARRATIVE ARC | PERSONAL ESSAY

The Lost Art of Intuitive Communication

This simple conversation strategy helped me succeed

Kim Kelly Stamp
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Two men holding primitive glass jar and string communication device
Photo by SI Photography via Canva Pro

Years ago, my oldest son sheepishly walked through the door one afternoon and immediately said, “You remember how you always say that if I tell you something bad before you hear it from someone else, I won’t get in trouble?” I nodded my head, wondering what I was about to hear.

He proceeded to tell me something he’d done at school that day and mentioned that I’d likely receive a call from one of his teachers. To be honest, I don’t recall what happened, but I do recall reminding myself to stay true to my word. And I did.

Though I didn’t relish hearing about my son’s antics, I was grateful that my messages to him were heard and assimilated, and I knew that my reaction to him would prove that my word was something to be trusted. My kids are grown and out of the house now, but I’m certain I equipped them well for adulthood, especially regarding communication.

When my children were younger, I worked hard to develop their communication skills. I knew from experience that intuitive communication is one of the best tools in one’s toolbox.

I taught them to consider how to frame a request so that their dad or I would…

--

--

Kim Kelly Stamp
The Narrative Arc

Writer. Publisher. Editor. Essayist. Espresso Enthusiast. LGBTQ+. PNW Native. Traveler. Gigi Extraordinaire. Pieces in: NYT, HuffPost, Next Avenue & elsewhere.