THE NARRATIVE ARC

The Love Affair I’m Not Ready to Give Up

Secret pleasures, stolen moments

Debra Urbacz
The Narrative Arc
Published in
5 min readJan 17, 2024

--

A croissant on a small white plate on a a wooden counter top.
Another stolen moment — Photo by Kaley Dykstra on Unsplash

Shielding my head against the rain, I pull up my hood, carefully tucking in curls before leaving the dry warmth of the building. Out on the street, I wait for a moment before swerving in step with the rest of the pavement pounders making their way to and from work.

It’s my day off. I keep the brisk left, right rhythm until I reach the artisan bakery on the corner of the road. I often visit this place for a coffee-to-go, as it’s just two minutes’ walk from the train station.

Clutching a crisp white paper bag in the same hand, I hold my latte; I skillfully slide my phone out of the front pouch on my bag and scroll for my prepaid ticket. I make sure I slip the handset safely away into a coat pocket before reaching the platform.

I arrive at precisely the right time to hop onto straight onto the train.

I settle myself into the first empty seat I see. It’s just a short journey to the city but it allows me time to stare vacantly out of the dust layered window and empty my head. Work has been stressful of late. I sigh gratefully for my weekly escape.

Taking my first tentative sip of coffee, I taste the creamy bitterness, and my tastebuds murmur in…

--

--

Debra Urbacz
The Narrative Arc

A freethinking, treehugging child of the 70s - writing - creating - connecting - community building - looking for magic in everyday things and places.