The Nuances of Having Multiple Partners

Polyamory is never about dating more people

John Pucay
The Narrative Arc

--

A polyamorous throuple: A guy and two women holding hands and hanging out at the park
Photo licensed from Shutterstock

When my five-year relationship ended, I confirmed that I was polyamorous. It’s more natural for me to love and commit to several partners instead of one.

It’s a feeling I’ve always suspected from an early age, even before I met my then-ex. But it was in our third year together, while in college, that I decided to explore things.

She was unsure about the idea at first. But eventually, she agreed to try it out. Our friends were, expectedly, indignant about this.

“Why did you allow him to do that?!” they screamed at her.

“She’s such a great woman! Isn’t she enough for you?!” they screamed, even louder, at me.

But polyamory is never a matter of “enough.” It’s not even about having more. To me, it’s a “relationship orientation.”

Like, if there are gay and straight people; there are also monogamous and non-monogamous folks. It operates on a spectrum and forms a core of who you are and how your feelings work.

Back in college, I tried very hard to explain how I felt. But most of my friends only gave me confused stares or jokes about converting to Islam. “So you can have multiple wives,” they said, even when I explained that marriage or…

--

--

John Pucay
The Narrative Arc

Author of Karinderya Love Songs; a 2020s dating and sex literary fiction novel. More details at johnpucay.com. Or https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B3WF1YF8/