ASSAULT, SEXUAL HARASSMENT, AND ESCAPE

Twenty-Year-Old Girl Alone With Two Men on a Boat

I put myself in a dangerous situation, but I’m here to tell the tale.

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
The Narrative Arc
Published in
5 min readMay 12, 2022

--

Photo by Jess Loiterton: https://www.pexels.com/photo/girl-in-black-printed-swimsuit-in-water-5007940/

TW: this story may be upsetting to some readers.

Would this be it? Was I to be raped, murdered, and left on the island?

Only a very few times in my life have I been so terrified. I sat on the front of the speedboat, facing the driver and his friend. My blue jean dress was snapped all the way up to the neck. No more lounging in my bikini.

Wanna go for a ride?

All summer, the same two guys came in to shore at the river, where I swam with friends. They chatted with all of us, but I was the one always there.

The guys told me I could go for a boat ride any time I wanted.

I was getting to know them. They talked about their cars, the weather, what music they liked. I listened and laughed at their jokes. They laughed at mine.

I was in my early twenties, all big eyes and long hair. My bikini was bright red. I loved wearing it.

As a fat kid and chubby teen, I wore my new figure like a Rolex watch — for everyone to see.

--

--