We are the Wazowskis

A trivia team of not-so-smart twenty-somethings, dominating the brewery on Wednesday nights

Allie
The Narrative Arc

--

Photo by the author

Maddy bites her nails at the table, tearing cuticle from skin as she looks to the rest of us for an answer. I merely shrug. “No clue,” I say. Colin and Jake drum on the table, adjust their ball caps and grunt out a few possibilities, but none of us are quite sure.

Suddenly, I have the answer. “It’s Federalists,” I say, eyes wide. I never know the history questions.

“Quick!” Jake urges me. “We only have thirty seconds!”

“Bet all seven points!” Colin hisses so the other teams won’t hear.

I look to Maddy for confirmation that this is what we want to go with. She stops biting her nails for a moment to nod. I hit submit, and we await the answer, the music fading as our host clears his throat for the announcement.

We call ourselves the Wazowskis (like Mike, yes, but not the Jordan variety). We first started playing trivia back when we were barely adults.

This was back when Twenty One Pilots was really popular. In those days, we were accustomed to working double shifts back to back to back at the local amusement park, flipping burgers, making ice cream cones, and losing our minds: we called ourselves Stressed Out…

--

--