UNPROMPTED PROMPTS | UNEXPECTED QUESTIONS

When an Unexpected Question Created a Messy Answer

The best thing you can do is enjoy the consequences

Jojo Teckina
The Narrative Arc
Published in
6 min readSep 6, 2023

--

A dark-haired young woman with glasses has a messy bun and is wearing a paint smeared art smock, with also some paint smears on her face. She’s looking at the camera with a little surprised look on her face.
A reasonable representation. Image created using Bing Image Generator

I was an art student.

It was finals week of my senior year of university, and I was cramming. The time when all art students actually have to justify their existence by writing an actual paper, rather than “expressing themselves” creatively.

I was a hot mess. It had been at least a week of research, writing, editing, crumpling up paper, deleting and re-writing a research thesis on the effects of Fauvism and Cubism on the current popular art culture and design trends. My Macintosh Quadra 650 was practically smoking with all the information I was packing into it. Maybe that was my brain, the burning smell may have had a variety of sources.

At the end of the week, I had no thoughts left. There was a moment when I had actually forgotten how to spell the word “of.” After that, I knew I needed to finish up, or my brain would literally quit working.

My boyfriend was very supportive, but he also was an art student, graduating the same year. He was more along the lines of an architectural, commercial design major though. Not a ‘feel your colors’ type artist.

--

--

Jojo Teckina
The Narrative Arc

I’m a wife, a mom, an artist, a writer and a hopeless optimist in the face of terrible odds. I believe in love, goodness and a future where we can all have joy.