THE NARRATIVE ARC | A DELIGHTFUL MEMOIR

When is the Last Time You Used the Word Psychedelic?

Probably fifty or sixty years ago

Lee J. Bentch
The Narrative Arc
Published in
5 min readApr 1, 2024

--

An image created by AI that is psychedelic, colorful and represents the sixties.
Image created by Bing AI Creator — under guidance by the author LJ Bentch March 2024

A storm raged outside, and the grandkids were scared.

Taking advantage of their break from online gaming, I made them sit in the hallway away from windows, telling them they’d be safer if the weather worsened. I used the moment to share a story.

It wasn’t a scary ghost story. My story was a tiny glimpse into my life as a teenager. It was a psychedelic moment from an era of great music, drugs, peace, and social discontent. I figured it would be a learning moment for them.

The storm caused me to remember a similar night in 1969. It was a night that my friends and I wanted to do something wrong and a little illegal but fun.

At the time, doing illegal things was easy; all you had to do was buy some weed from the long-haired guy in chemistry class. He was a known drug dealer but had found a way to stay clear of the law.

For twenty dollars, my friends and I scored a baggy full of fresh weed from Mexico. Buying it made us feel pretty cool.

We planned for the upcoming Friday night as the time to get stoned. My friend volunteered his house.

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
The Narrative Arc

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com