BERKANO

Elie Wolf
The Nature Pages
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2021

The Art Of New Beginnings

Brother Hawk was so active in the lands around the house today. He flew low, calling loudly, across the windows, beckoning me outdoors. I’d been awaiting the right moment to step outside, and charge my new, and first rune set. As I sat by the water, under the bright sun, he continued to speak throughout my ritual.

When I completed it, I came inside to do a one rune pull, my first ever, in order to do a meditation specific to whatever concept or idea might be shown to me for the day. Long have I practiced meditation, but not in this vein, attached to the Elder Futhark.

As I’ve learned in this past year, after decades of search, my ancestry is largely Norse, Scottish, and Celtic. My ties are heavily to my Norse and Scottish ancestors.

I asked the All Father for continued guidance. I placed my hand into the pouch, and the first rune I ever pulled…

BERKANO.

If you know what that means, you understand the astounding significance of it to me on this day, and its relationship to this past year, and all that has occurred.

Blessings and skal! Please continue to follow along my wildlife celebration and conservation journey. May we protect our precious earth and her other inhabitants.

--

--

Elie Wolf
The Nature Pages

Wildlife Artist & Photographer - Advocating For Animals Through The Visual Arts