Letter to the Training Manager

Sushrut Gaikwad
Nectar
Published in
3 min readNov 9, 2017

Dear Training Manager,

I don’t usually write letters but after what was probably the best 6 hours of my life, I felt that I must.

I have just left your wonderful classroom training session and wanted to personally let you know how much I enjoyed it.

Despite the fact that I had to wake up on a Sunday morning and travel 10km on an empty stomach, I was engaged and attentive throughout the whole thing.

I’m usually packed with work during weekdays and enjoy taking rest and catching up with friends and family on the weekends. However, when I received your email saying that I needed to attend a training session on ‘Company History and Organizational Structure’ this Sunday, I was happy to cancel all my plans and immediately set an alarm for 7 am, Sunday.

Actually, all my colleagues canceled their plans because they couldn’t wait to sit in front of a projector and yawn away 6 hours of their life, waiting for the trainer to read out 243 slides that have not been updated since 2001.

I love classrooms! I have been sitting in them for long periods of time since I was a kid, so right from the beginning of the training session, there was a comforting sense of familiarity. I must admit however that I was a little unsure about what I will learn from the course. But to my relief the ‘Objectives’ slide let me know what I’d be able to take away by the end.

I don’t quite remember what it was now that the session is over (there were some impressive terms though).

I couldn’t wait to apply my newly acquired knowledge of different verticals in this organization to the test. Which is why I’d like to thank you for the 20-questions long quiz at the end. You saved the best for the last.

I’m still confused with the fact that my colleagues scored lesser marks than I did. I remember them peeping into my answer sheets throughout the quiz. I guess not everyone was as enthusiastic as I was about giving their best on the quiz.

It was a bittersweet feeling when the projector was switched off. I was sad that the session was over, but when the trainer announced another training session on ‘Email Etiquettes 101’, to be held on Saturday, I was delighted again! I have already set an alarm for 6 am, next Saturday.

That’s all that I wanted to say for now. Keep those informative courses coming — more often, longer and preferably held on weekends would be great!

Thanks and Regards,

The Engaged Employee

--

--

Sushrut Gaikwad
Nectar
Editor for

Building LearnBee in India. Interested in E-Learning, Startups, Marketing, Football, Fitness.