Why I Will Always Be A Movement Guy

Dr. Kwame Brown
The Neighborhood Neuroscientist
2 min readFeb 6, 2017
The transition from doing “The Reebok” to “The Alf” won me the old school dance battle. There is some hater disputing the outcome…Do not listen to her…

Some that followed me early in my career know me as a “movement guy”. Some don’t want to interact as much with me now that I have left the fitness industry. That’s fine. I talk about a great many things now. Movement has always been something I enjoyed as a person, but professionally it was but a conduit to better social interactions and overall health. I do not focus solely on movement anymore. I translate the understanding of scientific research as it relates to the human condition. I write poetry, plan events, do regular community outreach, and more. I even recently started designing and selling t-shirts. But let me tell you something:

I will never “leave” movement.

To me, it was always about interacting with each other, and our world. Movement was and is a conduit for that in my life. I discuss a lot of social issues, because they are germane to my existence and to those of my loved ones and students. But I still use movement on a regular basis to create more fruitful interactions.

This year, I took on a group of young boys at a local middle school in a mentoring role. I talk to them, but I don’t just talk. We move. See, I know that whatever I need them to understand will be better understood if we move physically and play games.

Why?

Well, we know from decades of research at this point that movement increases blood vessel and neuron branching in the brain. Movement done regularly and over time increases cognition (the ability to think and problem solve).

We know from decades of research, and I have learned from my personal anecdotal experiences, that playful interaction breaks down walls between people.

You may not see a lot of video from the play I facilitate now because I don’t always have time to set that up, and I am often working in sensitive environments or situations. But there is some here. Take these games and play them in your neighborhood, school, home, or office.

I am still:

Playing with groups of kids
Playing with my kids
Working on a couple of collaborative dance pieces
Moving inside
Moving outside

And I hope you do, too! Share a game with me. I will share it with someone else.

--

--