Five examples of how ADHD can mess with your life

I have ADHD, and let me tell you, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows.

JoshuaDW
Published in
7 min readApr 25, 2023

--

Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

At times my brain can be firing on all cylinders, and it makes me feel like I can conquer the world. But there are also times when my ADHD feels like an anchor, dragging me down and making it nearly impossible to focus or get anything done.

There have been times when I have become so frustrated at my inability to focus when I needed to that I have screamed at the top of my lungs and even hit myself…

That kind of frustration can bring you to tears, it can make you sob. You might have something really important to get done by a certain time, but you just can’t focus enough to do it.

But do you know what is more frustrating than not being able to focus? Not being taken seriously when you say you have a profound disorder that affects every aspect of your life.

People often have a limited understanding of ADHD and tend to oversimplify it by equating it solely with hyperactivity or inattention.

They often have misconceptions about ADHD and its symptoms, which can make it difficult for those with the condition to feel understood and supported.

--

--

JoshuaDW

Newbie Freelance Journalist/writer looking to make a splash!