Mental Health

Writing About Your Monster Within

Our mind is a haven for unwanted beasts

H. Mikel Feilen
The Neuron Express
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2023

--

Photo by Marloes Hilckmann on Unsplash

Our minds love to harbor the worst of diseases. When I was 15 years old, I was diagnosed with Epilepsy. I was born with it and I’m sure it will be with me until my dying day. Hell, the monster may have one last seizure while I’m in the coffin being lowered into my grave just for old-time sakes.

I created the publication The Neuron Express, for anyone wanting to express themselves regarding their monster hiding inside. The reader wants to know what you go through. Help them understand the trials and tribulations that come along with dealing day after day with a disease in the brain.

Your voice can be heartfelt, informative, humorous, or all of the above. You can write stories and poetry If you are an artist like I am, then please add that to your stories as well.

--

--

H. Mikel Feilen
The Neuron Express

I am a writer, dancer, artist, and author - husband, father, and grandfather. I have suffered from epilespy since 1970. Tips at: https://ko-fi.com/hmikelfeilen