Inside the Cloud — A Neurons of Heaven Parable

Tim Shapiro
The Neurons of Heaven
2 min readSep 2, 2021

--

Photo by Shapiro

The Neurons of Heaven are like….

Long ago and far away, my father awakes and cannot get out of bed. My mother brings my father soup made with peonies and dandelions. He will not even hold the cup; my father turns away.

My sister, Elaino, comes to my father. She snuggles next to him in bed, her head on the pillow. She whispers in his ear.

She says, “I love you, father, I do.

I cannot hear her say these words (so how can I tell the reader what she says?).

So, I say, “Elaino, what are you telling father?”

She says, “Only the sky knows.”

Yet, I know. Whenever father comes home, he brings a gift for Elaino. I don’t mind not getting a gift, but that is another story. One evening he arrives home and gives Elaino a whistle made of maple. Another evening he comes home, sits at our dinner table, and gives Elaino a purple ring. Then, just last week, my father presented Elaino with tan sandals made of corn stalks.

Every time, every gift, Elaino says, “I love you, father, I do.”

Sometimes, Elaino doesn’t whisper. But that’s how I know what she whispers in his ear as she places her mouth close to his ear.

--

--

Tim Shapiro
The Neurons of Heaven

I am an ordained minister exploring life at the crossroads of spirituality, mental health, and brain science. I can be reached at timshapiro@outlook.com.