What I Learned in 6 Months of Plug-in Hybrid Ownership

Consider how your driving habits and charger availability affect costs and emissions to determine the right vehicle for you.

Matt Traverso
The New Climate.

--

Photo by Michael Marais on Unsplash

After twelve years, it was time to upgrade. I had taken up backpacking, gotten back into snow sports, and regularly hauled kayaks. My compact car could no longer keep up with my lifestyle. I went looking for a small SUV with more capacity and off-road capability and ended up with a Rav4 Prime (R4P), a Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV) variant of the Toyota Rav4.

PHEVs straddle the line between full hybrids and all-electric vehicles (BEVs). They operate the same as other gas-powered hybrids but also have larger batteries that can be plug-charged. This allows a limited all-electric range (usually 10–50 miles, 15–80 km). PHEVs can be manually switched between hybrid (HV) and electric (EV) modes.

https://pressroom.toyota.com/vehicle/2023-toyota-rav4-prime/

I’ve been logging my driving habits for months. This includes measuring all of my charging with a wattmeter ($20 on Amazon) and making notes about the distance and conditions of every trip I take. Here’s what I’ve learned.

--

--

Matt Traverso
The New Climate.

Technical writer focused on clean energy, transistors and fitness data analysis. Ph.D. Biochemist from Northwestern University and Project Manager (PMP).