Why High-Efficiency Appliances Aren’t the Best Way to Save the Planet

We can save more energy by using the equipment we already own correctly, instead. The manufacturing footprint is too high and operations savings too low.

Matt Traverso
The New Climate.

--

Photo by billow926 on Unsplash

There was no warning sound or indication anything was wrong. I opened my laundry room door to a stream of water gushing toward the exposed air vent.

After all the mopping, draining, and soggy clothes salvage was complete, it was time to replace my 21-year-old washer. Just in time for the President’s Day discounts!

RIP

After some quick research, I bought a replacement: a High-Efficiency (HE), Energy Star-certified top-load impeller model that uses less water and energy than my previous unit. It was also advertised to spin faster and wring out more moisture from the clothes before drying.

Per usual, I can’t just trust the Energy Guide — if you’ve read any of my previous articles, you’ll know I have to measure and verify the savings. So in my latest analysis/article, I compare the impact of my old and new washer (and then offer guidance…

--

--

Matt Traverso
The New Climate.

Technical writer focused on clean energy, transistors and fitness data analysis. Ph.D. Biochemist from Northwestern University and Project Manager (PMP).