Is Photoshop Fashion?

Fiona Cole
The New Era of Fashion
2 min readDec 21, 2016

Digital manipulation in fashion images has seemed to become the norm in todays society. But does this make it ok because it’s ‘fashion’?

In my opinion digital manipulation isn’t the problem here, it’s actually a positive. Professional photographers have the ability to fix problems in their images they didn’t see when taking the image, such as too much saturation, red eye or too exposed. But the fashion industry has taken the process of digital manipulation too far.

They are scrutinised for making models appear slimmer and more fresh skinned than they naturally are. This is where I rebel against the machine.

In my images I have not airbrushed or slimmed down my models. Every stretch mark, bruising and roll of fat is visible. The reasoning behind my method is that I want the next generation of woman to be able to see what true beauty is, not beauty that is digitally enhanced to be made ‘perfect’. There is no perfect.

So, is photoshop fashion? Is it ok to alter these woman to appear ‘more beautiful’ than they actually are because its fashion?

My argument here with these photographs and all my other photographs from previous shoots is that whether the models I use are a UK size 6 or UK size 16 they look beautiful wearing minimal make up and not being digitally enhanced. All that has changed in these images is the contrast and brightness.

Having a model with flawless skin, toned legs and rock hard stomach doesn’t make a fashion image in my mind. What makes a fashion image or any image is how it makes you feel and I hope my images will make woman go away feeling more positive about themselves.

Photoshop is NOT fashion. Digital manipulation is nothing more than the fashion industry trying to sell us this ideal of perfection so we will buy their clothes, their perfume, jewellery etc. Fashion is being beautiful in the clothes you wear, no matter who you are.

--

--