What it’s Like to be a Plus Size Model

Fiona Cole
The New Era of Fashion
3 min readDec 28, 2016

I interviewed 19-year-old, UK size 14 IMM Curve Model Poppy Dadd to find out what it’s like being a plus size model and if she has faced any difficulties in her career.

  1. Would you say its harder being a curve model than a regular model?

I would say that both model types have struggles, I feel that smaller size models may suffer more in the industry as they are constantly being told that they are not slim enough or their hips are too wide, which I can imagine would really hurt your self esteem. Whereas I find that in the curve modelling industry everyone is very welcoming and complimentary of your body and how you look. I think there are definitely more vibes of body positivity for the curvy girls and a darker undertone of body expectations for the smaller sized girls.

2. Have you ever felt judged or discriminated in the fashion industry for your size?

Personally I have occasionally felt discriminated against in the fashion industry. To be honest, this occurs more in day to day life than when I am on a job. I feel discriminated against when I go into Topshop and see that they only dress up to a size 16, or when i pick up a fashion magazine and there isn’t a single girl above a size 8 featured. When I am working I feel great, I feel beautiful, like my body is perfect; I sometimes get the odd look when I go to a casting and theres straight size models there too but other than that I have never felt discriminated in the industry.

3. What are the plus and negatives sides of being in such a hard industry which tends to focus on size zero models?

I think a positive of being in this industry is that a curvy revolution is happening and more and more work is becoming available for plus sized girls! I love being able to give women a realistic image to see in the media. Although modelling is primarily focused on the size zero girls I see little negatives to my job, although I’ll never walk the catwalk for the huge designers that’s fine because I feel that other things are coming.

4. Who are your inspirations when it comes to your modelling, if you have any?

Before I even considered modelling I had always looked up to Ashley Graham. She is a beautiful women with curves who has done so well and I’m proud of what she has accomplished.

5. What would you tell young girls who are struggling with their body image and girls that maybe would like to get into the industry you are in but feel they don’t meet the criteria?

I would say that there is no criteria! There is no set of rules for what a model must look like anymore, the most important thing is confidence. Learn to love your body. Love it and nurture it and you can conquer anything.

--

--