What to Buy

Fiona Cole
The New Era of Fashion
3 min readDec 22, 2016

Everyone girl knows when it comes to buying clothes it can be hard. Every shop, you turn out to be a different size and it’s a miracle if you buy a bunch of clothes online and they all fit perfectly. Even in stores the same sizes of clothes don’t fit the same. Which is why I think this blog post might help you decide where to shop for what.

Topshop Jeans, £38.00

When it comes to jeans I always find Topshop are the best for them! They fit perfectly round the waist and don’t end up baggy around the ankles. The only problem with Topshop jeans is they only go up to a size 16! People I know have struggled with this problem with Topshop but I have heard a good choice of jeans to go for if you’re over a size 16 are New Look as they go up to a size 18 and also do their own curve range in jeans, going into the 20's.

Tops can be a tricky one depending on your chest. I found it was much easier to buy tops when I was a 34B, but now I have developed and become a 34D the job is harder. I find when I wear tops, if they aren’t tight I look a size or two bigger than I am. Which is why other than when I buy jumpers I buy tops that don’t hang down past my chest but fit around my waist so I actually look the size I am. Most of my tops are from New Look as I feel they are great for buying tank tops for the summer and well fitting tops in the winter for larger chested girls. A great trick for when you do decide to wear a baggy top but don’t want to look slightly larger is to wear a pair of jeans or shorts and tuck the shirt in so it shows your waist off. That’s what I always do anyway!

Day dresses are my absolute favourite thing to wear as I find them so comfy. Most of my dresses I buy are from vintage stalls or I buy them off of Motel Rocks as they do the best day dresses! With day dresses I always say the comfier the better, there’s no need to go all out just to nip into town and it’s always easy to just add a belt around the waist and a nice pair of shoes if you really want to make an effort.

Motel Rocks, £30

When buying clothing the number one rule I follow is to never be disheartened when you find you aren’t the size you thought you were as shops are awful for their sizes. I’ve been into Topshop and brought a size 8 dress and the same day gone back to try on a different dress from Topshop and a size 12 was too small! Wear what fits, and don’t worry about the size on the label. It goes in the bin anyway.

--

--