Decision Making Criteria List

Abhinav Sircar
The Healing Touch
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2019

In order to evaluate my thesis work as I progress, here is a list of criteria. This would also help me in decision making as I iterate upon it.

User Needs

The ‘Job To Be Done’ here is “ To make sure that the patient takes their medication regularly”. Keeping this in mind, the user needs would be :

  • The activity of taking medication should be made simpler and convenient. (Sorting, taking the right medication at the right time, knowing the instructions of taking medication etc)
  • Less cognitive load for the elderly when they have to interact with technology (medicine reminders, to get additional information, to get in touch with caregivers for help)
  • Motivation to adhere to medication
  • Trigger to do the action
  • An external agent which checks with them about their health needs.
  • An emergency communication channel for the caregiver to get in touch with the patient, if the need arises.

Personal Criteria

As a designer and thesis student, I have my own criteria for evaluating my work. They are:

  • The objective of my thesis should be to solve a real world healthcare related problem.
  • I am intrigued by Voice user interfaces and see a huge potential in its application in the coming future. Assuming more maturity in voice technology, it can have a huge role in the future of healthcare. So I would want to explore this medium through my thesis.
  • Learn and understand new design tools and methodologies in solving a problem. Demonstrating that through my thesis process documentation.
  • Concept prototyping and iteration cycles through low and mid fidelity mockups
  • Learning presentation skills to communicate my concepts to the audience.

--

--