Outdoor Me

Nature Lover By Association

Some of my friends are green — Now I’m serving slices of nature to inspire awe

K. Barrett
The New Outdoors
Published in
5 min readMay 15, 2023

--

Image © K.Barrett, 2023

Outdoor me. Thinking about this topic sent ideas rippling through my mind.

It reminded me of my favorite writing activity with my students: So Many Scribbles. This is a pre-writing brainstorming strategy. We set a timer and scribbled as much as possible about a topic in the given time. The scribbles only need to be legible to the writer, and the writer only uses the ones they like best! Expectations and pressures are relieved, allowing all ideas to make the list.

New students always wondered how many things they needed to write. My answer was, So many.

They always asked, How many is that?

I would further explain that from this big batch of ideas, they would select a topic, and make it delicious with details (craft their story). They would then serve us just one delightful slice.

I would reiterate, when the timer dings, there should be so many ideas on the page that they could bake enough stories/slices to fill a whole shop with slices and slices of delicious cakes, pies, or pizzas.

We would follow this baking analogy throughout the entire writing process. So Many Scribbles

--

--

K. Barrett
The New Outdoors

Awe ambassador. Nature and travel photographer. Also, an educator, mom, wife, daughter, sister, and friend. Sharing the power of awe with the world.