NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY/INSPIRATION

Fascinating Facts and Ecological Contributions of Beavers

A Personal Encounter with Nature’s Engineers

B.R. Shenoy
The New Outdoors
Published in
3 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Beaver
Credit: B.R. Shenoy

“The beaver told the rabbit as they stared at the Hoover Dam: No, I didn’t build it myself, but it’s based on an idea of mine.” — Charles Hard Townes

After a recent heavy rain event, I ventured out to a local lake in my community and was pleasantly surprised to see a beaver in the water.

Upon first seeing it, I was initially unsure if it was an otter or a beaver. However, after doing some research, I was able to confirm that it was indeed a beaver.

This is not the first time I have seen a beaver, but I was lucky enough to photograph this elusive creature this time around. Over the past decade, I have only spotted them two or three times in my area. As a nature enthusiast, capturing photographic evidence of them was a real treat.

This rare sighting inspired me to further explore these fascinating creatures and their impact on our environment.

Facts About Beavers

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
The New Outdoors

World Traveler•Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•MS Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2•. https://brshenoy.substack.com.