The Ten Ugliest Crests in European Football

Leo Lopez
The New Ultras
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2018
This joint is hideous. I hope you don’t make it back to the Prem

Earlier today, Leeds United decided it was a good idea to change their crest. It wasn’t. This monstrosity got fried to hell and back all over social media. While there may be some familiarity for Liga MX fans, no one was a fan of this change. Thankfuly, Leeds is looking into changing their crest again but it made me think of something: We’ve had some hideous crests come out over the years. So, with that in mind, I present to you the ten ugliest crests in European football, in no particular order.

Juventus

Seeing the biggest club in Serie A become the victim of branding kind of sucks. I get the need for marketability, especially in attempts to compete with Europe, but who seriously thought this was a good idea? This looks like an old man’s half-assed attempt to appeal to Millenials. You won’t change it back. But you should.

Moreirense FC

This might be the only badge I hate in the Portuguese league. It belongs on here strictly off the font alone. What is this childish mess? Imagine using that, at your big age. Act like a top league club for once.

Hannover 96

Look, I get it. You were established in 1896. That doesn’t mean that that’s the only thing your crest should tell us. Would it kill you to dress this up a bit more. I know it’s possible. I’ve seen your old crests. They had words. They had shapes. Go back to that.

VfL Wolfsburg

Honestly, there’s a number of Bundesliga clubs that could go on this list but I don’t hate any of their crests as much as I hate Wolfsburg’s. It’s a W surrounded by an incomplete circle. Take that and then add the fact they picked a hideous shade of green. At least Hamburg’s crest is design friendly. This is just asking for failure. Keep this away from me and my loved ones.

Zenit St Petersburg

This barely qualifies as a badge or a crest. It’s just letters and numbers with a star that got added in 2015. Can you imagine that this used to actually be… blander? I’m really not sure what went wrong here. I was actually a fan of the pre-2013 version. Did they change it because this version saves you money on paint, etc?

Genoa C.F.C.

This crest is so mailed in that I struggled finding a proper photo of it. But just look at that facial expression. The mythical creature on your own crest doesn’t want to be there.

Benevento Calcio

You think a new club makes it’s way to the top league and their crest is going to look good. Then, they show up and it’s looking like some trash.

There’s a goddamn witch on your crest. Who okayed this? No, I want a real answer because they need to be slapped. This might be the ugliest thing I’ve seen. I’m so glad you’re going back to Serie B. Don’t come back.

Napoli

Can I buy a vowel? No, really, look into bringing the words back on this crest. It helps a little.

If there’s one thing this list has taught us, it’s that Serie A has some UGLY crests. Are y’all *that* broke over there? Sell some plasma, some sperm or something.

West Ham

Honestly, they’re just here because I feel like ditching the castle from the old badge is still a terrible idea. The inclusion of “LONDON” irks me. Like, the castle practically spelled that out, in a better fashion. Why are you reminding us where you’re located? This is definitely a case of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

Tottenham Hotspur

Imagine thinking I wouldn’t put Participation Ribbon FC on here. Imagine.

But let’s get back to the crest. It’s a cock. On top of a ball. A big, floppy, nonthreatening cock. No wonder no one takes your club seriously. How can you? This is easily the worst of the top 6 clubs. Might be the worst in the whole Premier League. Why do we even entertain you? We should stop that. I seriously hope your club never lifts another trophy (heh!) as long as this is y’all’s crest.

--

--