maria urduja osit-li
The News and Story Board
4 min readNov 6, 2022

--

Lourdes Duque Baron’s “When Silence is not Golden” to be Released on Amazon November 17, 2022 Interview Credits: Carla Frueh EOTM Media Group, Los Angeles, CA

Author / Artiste Lou Baron

From the Author of “Scripted in Heaven,” “I Called Myself Cassandra” and “New Breed of Homo Sapiens” — Lourdes Duque Baron comes another riveting nonfiction book that writes the story of a family who learns from the trials they faced and take the circumstances as an uplifting event that moved to becoming an advocacy for re-learning the world of autism.” -maria urduja osit- li

Interview:

“The critically acclaimed author opens up about her personal experience caring for her autistic son, Gregg Robinson Baron, as well as how he learned to comprehend and express himself through music, thanks to Elvis. The plot tells a family’s journey with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

The book also offers an up-close and eye-opening look at how the autistic mind distinguishes itself from others.

A key point in the book “ When Silence is Not Golden” takes us back in time when Gregg spoke his first words at the age of eight.

As Baron narrates.

“He watched for the first time the movie, “ This is Elvis”

The film, a semi-documentary biography of the King of Rock ‘N Roll, focused on Elvis Presley’s extraordinary rise to stardom and his untimely death rather than his music.

A moving chronicle of the singer’s life and outlines Presley’s private moments, including his inability to cope with his popularity, his seemingly

destructive moments and his last performance.

As Elvis Presley’s life unfolded on screen, Gregg sat in front of the television unmoving, captivated

enraptured, and fully alive.

He viewed the same images we saw

six years prior, that fateful day on August 16, 1977, when Elvis’s death was broadcasted around the world.

Gregg sat in rapt attention and unwavering focus in front of the television, watching the more than two-hour film.

I’ve never seen him act like this before as if his mind was actively working.

He was thinking about what he saw on the screen.

Later that evening as Robin and I were getting ready for bed, I heard stomping

out in the hallways, softly at first but becoming louder and louder and louder.

Gregg is at it again, Robin said. He was convinced Gregg was

having another meltdown. What is it this time? I sighed in exasperation and headed to the door.

As soon as I opened the door, I saw Gregg down the hallway, walking to

and from, stomping as he went, rousing everyone in the household

But I also heard an unusual sound, a guttural voice that

could not identify. Gregg, what are you doing? What

is going on I cried out. He ignored me and went on as

before, packing back and forth, all this time excitedly

waving and flailing his arms.

Honey, what’s wrong? I came forward to calm him. When Gregg

turned around and faced me.

I realized it was his voice I was

hearing. He was babbling some words I did not understand.

E-L-V-I-S… E-L-V-I-S, ELVIS… Gregg continued. It took a

moment to completely process what was going on.

My son was

talking! Hearing him speak turned me speechless and immobile. I could

not understand what he was saying, which sounded like an alien

language. Yet there was unmistakable joy on my son’s face as he

danced and jumped while blabbering incoherently… E-L-V-I-S… E-L-V-I-S, ELVIS!

As Gregg babbled on, I listened carefully and tried

to make sense of the words coming out of his mouth.

What is he talking about? Then it dawned on me, and I finally

understood what Gregg was saying ELVIS! He was saying Elvis Presley’s name.

He was spelling Elvis’s name.

When a child with autism spectrum disorder makes their first

language breakthrough, it is a significant moment.

So, when I heard my son speak for the first time, it felt like

my world had stopped, and everything I knew ceased to exist.

Lourdes demonstrates how she connected with her son

a fascinating young man with a complex mind. Appreciating

the challenges experienced and how through faith she found

the strength needed to help him grow and flourish in his way

Expounding on charming illustrations between the family

and the daily challenges that those with ASD and their families

face and ultimately overcome, sometimes with great effort.

Gregg came to me, Subhuman. He was devoid of social and

physical skills and was totally dependent on me.

But in his ownunique ways, he gave me reverence and showed me a better

the version of myself.

Most of all, Gregg taught me the Simple

truth: The Miracle of Love is the Mystery of Life- Lourdes

Duque Baron.

Moreover When Silence is Not Golden expounds on how

communication can be uniquely developed, the different

experiences of caregivers, and inspirational stories

of self-discovery that is identified through

navigating through living colors.

An interesting fact that must be noted. Many individuals

that was labeled autistic back in the early 1990s were

considered by many in their communities as intellectually

incapacitated, in some ways, these people exuded solid, if not

superior cognition. Abilities such as perfect musical pitch,

visual hypersensitivity, greater intensity of colors,

heightened pitch detection, superior auditory discrimination

savant syndrome, the capacity to understand certain

technologies with no prior experience.

According to these same studies, a great many cases were evaluated

extensively and it was difficult to say whether the person

should be called autistic or genius.

When Silence is not Golden is slated for release in November

15, 2022, and will be available for purchase on Amazon.

Published on PR Web Sept. 17 2022

When Silence is not Golden click to Tik Tok

--

--

maria urduja osit-li
The News and Story Board

PR/Writer/Publicist "Why I prefer Avantegarde Writing...is anyone's guess-it is about Independent/experimental work that people do in Arts and Entertainment."