Self-Care and the Myth of the Strong Black Woman

Katerina Canyon
The Next Day
Published in
5 min readMay 23, 2020

--

Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

Last week, I was sick and trying to work. My supervisor kept telling me to take time off and reflect on self-care. I kept arguing that I did not need it. That I could push through and that everything would be okay. Finally, I got to a point where I just needed to lie down for what I said was “a few minutes”. I did not wake up for four hours. It was at that point I had to admit to myself that I was sick, and that my self-image as a “strong black woman” was defeated.

I am a strong black woman. This is my mantra. It was taught to me by my mother who learned it from her mother, and I taught this mantra to my daughters. This mantra has gotten me through some of my more challenging days.

Recently, I have been reading a lot of articles about how the “strong black woman” myth is hurting black women. Racial health disparities abound. Black women are less likely to get medication or treatment for conditions than white women who present with the same symptoms. Researchers found that out of 658 women who died of childbirth complications in 2018, 37.4% were black.

Apparently, when black women are suffering or in pain, people are less likely to take us seriously because we are “strong black women”. We can handle it. I think oftentimes I fail to take my own pain and symptoms seriously because I believe I can handle it. After…

--

--