That’s Why I Declined a Prestigious $100K, 4-Day-Work-Week Job Offer at a Luxury Car Company

Even though I could have driven a luxury company car straight away, one of the best decisions of my life.

Chris, PhD
The Next Millionaire

--

Photo by Campbell on Unsplash

A dream job with a top salary ($100k) — at least by German standards and directly after the PhD with zero years of professional experience.

32 hours or 4 days per week working time.

Luxury car as a take-home car after the 6-month probation period.

Declined.

Are you crazy, dude?

For 99% of all people, I would certainly be. And my “self” from 10 or even 5 years ago would surely have stoned me to death.

Don’t make decisions on external aspects alone

That was 2.5 years ago when I completed my PhD with distinction. The world was open to me.

However, what was my first impulse? I applied for different ‘random’ jobs (e.g., at the authorities, at banks, at energy suppliers, at car manufacturers). My thought was „You have to earn money“.

Never lower your standards and don’t sell yourself short.

--

--

Chris, PhD
The Next Millionaire

Dad. Husband. Son. Multi-business founder + CEO. Tech PhD | Sharing valuable experience, lessons learned, and shortcuts.