Where are comments and Twitter on NY Times?

Chris O'Brien
The Next Newsroom Project
1 min readAug 30, 2010

This morning, I was reading the New York Times story on why location-based services might be a hard sell for mainstream users. This echoes some of my own thoughts, which I wrote about recently here: Telling the world you’re here, there and everywhere. And here: Location services show the way to the next great Internet bubble.

I was curious what kind of reaction their story was getting from readers. But I couldn’t find the comment section. So I’m wondering: Is that standard? It seems there are comments on some stories, but not others. Does anyone know the Times’ policy? I couldn’t even find a place to post a comment.

The other thing that surprised me: I wanted to tweet the article out. But there’s no Twitter button. That seems like such a standard feature, I find it odd that it’s not there. There’s a Facebook button right on the article. And when I click “share” I get a choice of six social media buttons, but not Twitter.

Does anyone else find that to be a strange omission?

--

--

Chris O'Brien
The Next Newsroom Project

Business and Technology Reporter living in Toulouse, France. Silicon Valley refugee.