The top esports headlines of 2017

518 articles that caught my attention

Jonathan Pan
The Nexus
20 min readJan 2, 2018

--

Photo by G. Crescoli on Unsplash

Earlier this year, I created an esports Google Alert to keep track of all the news happening in this space. I picked the most relevant articles (to me) and tracked them in Google Sheets.

First, thanks to all the esports journalists and writers out there for pumping out some amazing content. Second, it’s been incredibly enlightening to scroll through all the headlines to get a snapshot of what happened in esports and the broader video game industry in a year. Third, I’ve got a lot of thoughts around themes, predictions, analysis, but I’ll save that for a different post.

Disclaimer: This is totally subjective. Not all links may work and some links may point to a paywall like WSJ. I didn’t correct misspellings of esports. Finally, if I missed an important article, it doesn’t reflect my personal opinion on its worth.

January (98):

February (61):

March (71):

April (30):

May (50):

June (26):

July (23):

August (36):

September (24):

October (32):

November (30):

December (37):

--

--